Prayer Flags

My prayer flag, dedicated to my mom.

My prayer flag, dedicated to my mom.

I wanted to post about the prayer flags that we will be carrying up Mount Shasta with us.  Prayer flags are a tradition of mountain climbing that originates in Tibetan culture. Prayer flags are not meant as a prayer to a deity, but rather a way to spread good will and compassion to everyone. The idea is that the cloth bears a mantra and prayers for healing, peace, good fortune, etc. They are often carried and hung from high elevations so that as the wind passes over them they can carry the messages to all below.

Prayer flags hanging in the Himalayas (picture from Flickr, CC Mike Lamper http://www.flickr.com/photos/lampertron/4376174306/)

When I climb Mt. Shasta in 2 weeks I will carry a string of flags dedicated by you, the people who donated to my climb. The names of your loved ones along with prayers of remembrance and healing will fly from one of the highest peaks in the US. The flags will come back down the mountain with me and will then be added to the permanent traveling string of flags that goes all over the world. A duplicate flag will be mailed to you. Whether or not you believe the wind is actually carrying your prayers, I think this is a really beautiful way to honor those who have faced cancer.

2012 Climb Against the Odds climbers flying their prayer flags. (Image (c) Breast Cancer Fund)

If you have made a donation to my climb (or intend to) of $100 or more (thanks!!!) and did not dedicate a flag but now want to, please let me know. If you did dedicate a flag, please let me know if you d0 not receive your flag in the mail (allow 3-4 weeks).

The wind carries our prayers of love, healing and remembrance.

May all be well.